Gujarat Assembly Election: 2nd and Final Phase begins today

The second and final phase of voting begins in Gujarat today as 93 assembly constituencies across 14 districts of the state. The Election Commission (EC) informed that an average of 34.74 percent turnout is recorded on Monday till 1 pm.

There has been a tough battle among the political parties including Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Congress as they have made big poll promises to the public. The fate of political parties would be decided by over 2.51 crore electorates.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also cast his vote in Ahmedabad. Among those big names who voted in the morning are Home Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel and Aam Aadmi Party CM candidate Isudan Gadhvi.

On December 1, a voter turnout of 63.14 percent was recorded in the first phase. Gujarat has always witnessed a contest between the BJP and Congress, but with the addition of AAP, the competition has become fierce.

“I appeal to everyone to vote, especially the first-time voters – the young girls and boys should vote,” said Union Minister Amit Shah. The exit polls updates would be announced today post 6:30 pm and the results would be declared on 8 December.