Asia Cup Indian Team Announcement: KL Rahul, Iyer & Bumrah

On Monday, the squad for the 2023 Asia Cup has been announced followed by a press conference from Captain Rohit Sharma and chief selector Ajit Agarkar. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced their 17-member squad for the Asia Cup 2023.

The tournament will begin on August 30 with Pakistan against Nepal while India will play their first match against arch-rival Pakistan on September 2 in Kandy. Jaspreet Bumrah’s much-anticipated return to the team comes as delightful news, especially after confirming his fitness in the T20I series against Ireland.

KL Rahul is also back in the team post recovering from the injury he had during the Indian Premier League (IPL). Indian skipper Shreyas Iyer makes his entry to India’s squad for Asia Cup 2023 after recovering in time from the injury. However, skilled legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been dropped from the team as Kuldeep Yadav is selected in the team along with Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel. 

Indian Team Squad for Asia Cup 2023 Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, and Sanju Samson (back up).