India announces 15-player squad for upcoming ODI World Cup 2023

On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-player squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023, which will be hosted by India. The team will be led by Rohit Sharma, while Hardik Pandya will be the vice captain.

The first match for the Indian team will be against Australia. The upcoming ODI World Cup will begin on October 5 and conclude on November 9. KL Rahul is back in the squad, while Sanju Samson could not find a place in the team.

“I have not thought about plans yet. Problem of plenty is a good problem to have. We have to see who is in form and who our opposition is. We need to see what the best possible combination could be. If someone misses out, then so be it. This keeps happening. You have to make tough calls for the team,” said the Indian team captain Rohit Sharma in a press conference.

Indian Team Squad for ODI World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.